Reading Journal 4

In Chinese Noodles From a Chile-Haunted Region, Pete Wells explains how the cuisine in the Hunan region in China is overshadow by the other Chinese regions.  The name Hunan is used by restaurants in America and is generally overlook as a simple Americanize Chinese restaurant. The article focus on a single Hunan restaurant named Hunan Slurp. This restaurant has many traditional dishes and is located in New York city. Wells explains how Hunan Slurp does in New York and tells about some of the dishes this restaurant explains.

What I found interesting and surprising in the article is how the name Hunan can be overlooked when looking at Chinese restaurants.  When I order from any Chinese restaurants, I believe that they generally have the same dishes with slight alterations, which most of them do.  Taking in consideration from this article that there are Chinese restaurants out there that serve traditional food, I will definitely explore those options.  When I was reading article, I started to question if there is a website I could use to search for traditional restaurants.

The description of the dishes is very interesting and I can learn a lot from it. I always have a hard time describing dishes in my essays. It usually seem uninteresting or bland when it’s really not. The methods that was use to describe the dish as the dish is presented, served and eaten were very well done and I can picture it in my head. I hope to learn from this and further improve myself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *